Home > Varia, veterinary > Border Collie Collapse (BCC)

Border Collie Collapse (BCC)

On Saturday after training Krypto for a few minutes, perhaps 10, with some short pauses to move between “stations”, we stopped, he drank water, lay down and started panting furiously. Then he got up, and his back paws very very wobbly. SM and I cooled him down right away – I poured a bottle of water on his head and some more on his belly and chest – and he recovered quickly. I then brought him to the small kiddy pool, and we wet his belly again with the cool water. And that was it.

Then on Sunday off we went to Janet’s Masters clinic. We worked, but not for long stretches of time. And I forfeited several minutes of my time for not risking another episode of BCC. As soon as we stopped working Krypto went in the pool, I wet his belly since he does not like to lie down in it, then put on his cooling coat, had him drink, and gave him a few ice cubes to eat. No wobbly legs and no hyperventilation due to excessive panting.

So after worrying all Saturday evening, on Sunday I realized that despite this issue, we can still work and perform. I just have to manage all our activities, especially during hot days, so as not to have him collapse. I think I can manage this one too.

Categories: Varia, veterinary
  1. Catherine mirsky
    August 15, 2012 at 6:50 pm

    That was close!! I can imagine you were more than a little worried! Glad Krypto’s OK. 🙂

  2. Lisa
    August 15, 2012 at 6:52 pm

    Super to hear everything went fine on Sunday and is looking very optimistic for the future as well!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

