Home > treibball > Pongo goes “Treibballing”

Pongo goes “Treibballing”

I think I invented this one – Treibballing. From “treibball”, a new dog sport.

Treibball is a sport invented in Germany, where dogs herd large balls, similar (or perhaps the same) to exercise balls. You can read a short explanation on what it is in Wikipedia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Treibball

This sports is quite new in Canada, and I believe that Dogz CSC is the only place in the Ottawa-Gatineau area to offer classes. And Pongo and I are taking the very first course over there.

It was supposed to start last Friday, then it got moved to next week, but I did not know. So last Friday off I went with Pongo to Dogz CSC, and I got a free introductory lesson! And Pongo did awesome!!

The things we did were:

  1. lie down on a mat
  2. go around poles without worrying about the presence of balls
  3. push a ball with the muzzle

The lie down on the mat came relatively easy as Pongo learnt that as a first step to the automatic down on the agility table. We definitely need more work on this though, especially since I need to send him to lie down from quite far, and ultimately he will have to do it behind a bunch of balls.

The go around poles was super-easy, and I bet it is, again, because of his agility background.

The tough part was pushing the ball with the muzzle. Good thing he did not try to bite the balls. One less problem to work/fix. To start him I sat down, placed the ball in front of me, Pongo in front of the ball (a soccer ball, not a bit treibball ball) and waited. Click and treat when he touched the ball with his nose. A couple of times he actually pushed it towards me.

Pongo loved our Friday. He loved working, he loved running with Stevie after practice, and he loved his very special Pongo-time. perhaps I have found our new sport, and I will not need to run around to practice it!

Categories: treibball
  1. Lisa
    June 14, 2012 at 7:39 pm

    Awesome!! I’m looking forward to reading more about how it goes.

  2. Catherine mirsky
    June 16, 2012 at 11:00 am

    Pongo (yes, I mean Pongo 😉 ) will have to show Kye and Chase how to do their homework! Go Pongo go!! 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

