Home > Agility, Uncategorized > Update on Krypto’s contacts

Update on Krypto’s contacts

Finally! On Saturday we went to Dogz C.S.C. and, maybe because of all the excitement of being in a new place, or maybe because the lightbulb in his brain turned on, Krypto did a beautiful, fast dog walk, without creeping down the descending part, and ended it with a perfect 2 on 2 off position. I wish I had a video of it. We did some more, and he was quite good. No creeping down! Yuppy!!!!!!

A-Frame: still a work in progress. The full height A-Frame seems to cause him some issues in getting into a 2 on 2 off position. But I am sure we will get there. \

Teeter: I need to work on his end position. He needs to be reminded that he is not supposed to move until I tell him so 🙂

Now on to tackle our biggest challenge: he seems to be able to memorize an exercise/corse just by doing it once. Then I could be invisible, he would keep going because he thinks he knows what I want. I could see the weels turning in his brain. Quite amazing, but definitely he needs to understand that I am the one who decides what we are going to do next, he does not necessarily know.

We practiced one starters jumpers by Peter Mitchell, and I think we would have been ok if we had not had the dog walk  and other stuff in the field. So considering the “stuff” that crowded the arena, Krypto had a good LOP, amazing distance work, followed his line, listened. We had some issues past the chute. He turned to look at me and did not understand the “go”. Thus I need to train him to come out straight from the chute, no matter what. Then I will be able to adjust my handling/commands accordingly. But if I do not know how he is going to come out, I cannot tailor my strategy. I also need to support him more as I move away, or he tends to take shortcuts to come to me, and not do the obstacles he is supposed to do. I also need to work more on RX in pin-weels, and RX in general.

So much to do, not so much time before the trial. Thus, we will go there and have fun. No other expectations. No pressure. Sounds like a good plan.

Categories: Agility, Uncategorized
  1. May 2, 2012 at 8:50 pm

    That was a great contact. I admit getting lazy with Fannie… My bad… 😦

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

